Home > Uncategorized > Amiga: Floppy Emulator

Amiga: Floppy Emulator

Since floppy disks are dying; Sony has stopped producing them years ago. Also because of deterioration and bit rot, floppies will probably be unusable pretty soon. This is why I’ve been thinking about floppy emulation.I’ve been researching a bit, and I’ve found two alternatives that are feasible.

1. SD HxC : This is probably the best solution, but it’s a bit expensive for me right now.

2. Gotek floppy emulator with Cortex custom firmware.

Since the gotek is alot cheaper, and the flashing procedure is pretty easy, I went with that alternative 🙂

The procedure is explained pretty well in the link, and there’s lots of photos there, so I’ll just add a few photos here that shows it installed 🙂

Image

I couldn’t get the drive positioned right with the bracket and screws so that the lid would fit, so I glued it in place with hot glue.

 

I just tested it, and it boots Workbench and a few games from ADF’s on the micro sd card in the USB adapter 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 07/01/2015 at 02:34

    Nice Blog, thanks for sharing this kind of information.

    Like

    • 15/01/2015 at 23:07

      I like helping people, and I love retro systems, so I figured I’d share some of my experiences, in case someone needs help 🙂

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment