Home > Flash Cart, Retro > SD2SNES Setup Tutorial

SD2SNES Setup Tutorial

When I got this great flashcart I found no guide or tutorial to set it up, so I’ll write the steps here in a easy to follow numbered list 😉

First i tried the latest firmware (0.1.5), and found that my SNES would hang in the SD2SNES menu all the time, but if I started a game it all worked perfect. Then I tried  0.1.4a, that worked great 🙂

First, I'll advise that you format your SD card to get rid of any file system errors.Just use the normal Windows formatter and format it as FAT32 with default cluster sizes.

Getting firmware from the official sd2snes blog, here's a direct link to the downloads section.

Download the latest firmware (except 0.1.5) and extract the zip to the sd card. There should now be an sd2snes folder in the root of the sd card containing:

bsxpage.bin
cx4.bin
firmware.img
fpga_base.bit
fpga_cx4.bit
menu.bin
sd2snes.db
sd2snes.dir

Now you need to get some extra files and add them to the sd2snes folder:

dsp1.bin
dsp1b.bin
dsp2.bin
dsp3.bin
dsp4.bin
st0010.bin

I found these at Stone Age Gamer. Go to the SD2SNES page, click downloads, and download the files. Extract them to the SD2SNES folder on the SD card.

Now create a new folder on SD root, and put your roms in it. Do not put roms in the SD2SNES folder, since that's a system folder, and it won't show up in the menu.

Safely remove SD card, then put it in your SD2SNES. Put the SD2SNES in your SNES, then power it up.

Enjoy playing 🙂

Edit:
There’s a setup guide for the SD2SNES at the downloads page on the official SD2SNES blog. I just didn’t remember at the time of writing.

  1. 10/07/2015 at 22:46

    You saved my butt. Perfect guide and got me going quick. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Max
    21/02/2016 at 19:49

    Hm, even i got exactly the same files in my folder as shown from you when starting SD2SNES the message /sd2snes/menu.bin not found appears… What am i doing wrong? Thank you. Regards.

    Like

    • 10/03/2016 at 13:25

      Sorry for the slow reply, but I’ve been quite busy.

      Did you get this fixed?

      If not, try formatting the SD card, and re-downloading the files.

      This will make sure there are no FAT errors on SD card, and that the downloaded files are OK 🙂

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment